Home  »  Werner Meyer-Ilse Memorial Award

Werner Meyer-Ilse Memorial Award

Werner Meyer-Ilse Memorial Award

About the Award

The Werner Meyer-Ilse Memorial Award is given to young scientists for exceptional contributions to the advancement of x-ray microscopy through either outstanding technical developments or applications, as evidenced by their presentation at the International Conference on X-ray Microscopy and supporting publications.

Nominees are qualified if they have performed this work as part of a completed Ph.D. thesis during the three-year period prior to and including the conference, or are expected to receive their degree in the near future.  The topics should be appropriate to the themes of the conference, and the work must be available to the award committee as conference papers, publications, or preprints at the time of nomination.  Nominees must submit an abstract to the conference requesting an oral presentation of the work.  The abstract submission deadline of the conference is also the deadline for submission of nominations for the award.

Nominators should submit a short (less than 1 page) description of  the work performed by you and an explanation of the importance of the work. Please include the nominees name, affiliation and contact information. Nominators should use the WMI award nomination form and include copies of relevant publications or preprints. Supporting letters of recommendation are encouraged. Joint nominations are not allowed.
Nominators, please email the nomination form and attachments to the Award Committee Chairman, Michael Feser by 26 May 2014.

Award committee

  • Michael Feser (ZEISS X-ray Microscopy, USA – committee chair)
  • Harald Ade (North Carolina State University, USA)
  • Christian David (Paul Scherrer Institut, Switzerland)
  • Stefano Marchesini (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
  • Andrew Peele (La Trobe University, Australia)
  • Günther Schmahl (Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, Germany)
  • Timm Weitkamp (SOLEIL, France)
  • Thomas Wilhein (Rhein Ahr Campus Remagen, Germany)
  • Kazuto Yamauchi (Osaka University, Japan)
  • Peiping Zhu (IHEP, China)

History of the Award

Werner Meyer-Ilse was chair of the International Program Committee for XRM99 and leader of the x-ray microscopy program at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.  Werner died in a tragic automobile accident a few days before the 1999 conference.
The Werner Meyer-Ilse award consists of a medallion, citation and a cash prize and is presented at each occasion of the International Conference on X-Ray Microscopy.

Previous Recipients


Irene Zanette (Universite Joseph Fourier)
For development of a highly sensitive x-ray grating interferometer imaging system and development of novel image acquisition and processing schemes for dose reduction and image quality improvement.
Stefan Werner (Humboldt University Berlin)
For the pioneering developments and realization of high efficiency, high-resolution on-chip stacking zone plates.


Christian Holzner (Stony Brook University of New York)
For developments across many fields of x-ray microscopy, including detector development (segmented and pixel array detectors), phase contrast imaging (differential and scanning Zernike), full-field tomography methods (Zernike filtering), and scanning x-ray fluorescence tomography.


Pierre Thibault (Paul Scherrer Institut)
For pioneering new work in coherent diffraction imaging and ptychography
Anne Sakdinawat (University of California at Berkeley)
For the development of modified zone plates for phase contrast and high depth of focus applications.


Weilun Chao (University of California at Berkeley)
For the fabrication of Fresnel zone plates with 15nm finest zone width and for demonstrating their focusing properties.


Michael Feser (Stony Brook University of New York) For his development of a segmented solid state detector and Fourier filter imaging for the scanning transmission x-ray microscope.


Jianwei Miao (Stony Brook University of New York) For his contributions to the development of x-ray image formation based on the recording and reconstruction of the diffraction pattern from a non-crystalline object. Daniel Weiss (Institute for X-Ray Physics, Göttingen) For his contributions to the development of x-ray tomographic imaging of cryogenically prepared biological specimens